Always Something New

It never fails when we reach out to help others, and attempt to do the will of God with motives other than selfish ambition that God will give us a greater revelation of who He is.

A great temptation for a guy like me, meaning I’m 43, I’ve grown up in ministry, I have worked in full time ministry for 23 years and for all of those years I’ve been an avid student of the word, of people, of leadership and life in general, is to without realizing it limit myself by thinking I know more than I do, or operating on old stale mind sets.

As I lay here in my bad at 4 am in kibuye, Rwanda, listening to the waters of lake Kivu and contemplating what I plan to share with these pastors today I realize I’m but a small piece of a very big puzzle. I have more to learn than I have to teach. I’m merely a tool in the hand of God and what he is using me for is less about me and more about His purpose.

However I am a piece of the puzzle. I have learned some thing’s that I can teach, and I am a tool in the hand of God that He will use to change the life of another.

So in realizing this temptation, and that a lot of people my age struggle with this whether they admit it or not, I find myself with a new and different perspective.

That while I’ve gone aways down the road of my journey I’m really just beginning. I’m more concerned now with the motives behind what I do then the importance of what I do. Growing is something that never stops if we are healthy and I can learn from the very people I teach.

My prayer is that Gods kingdom come and will be done on earth as it is in heaven, and that it never be skewed by my limitations, aspirations or selfish ambition.

I am given to that for which God has created me for, nothing added or taken away.

To God be the glory!

Leave a Reply

