Did We Do Enough?

20120521-125058.jpg

She’s smart, beautiful, mature, socially adept, and purpose driven. I have no doubt in her as a person, no doubt she will move forward with rapid progress and purpose. I couldn’t be more proud of her accomplishments and future potential.

As a parent however, I keep asking myself, “have I done enough?” have my wife and I taught her all the life lessons we could have? Have we given her the full benefit of our experience.

I realize our job is not over but in large part in a way we have crossed a line that none of us will return from. Enter adulthood.

The conclusion I’ve come to is we’ve done the best we could. We haven’t been perfect, we have made mistakes, but we can honestly say we gave her our best effort as parents and as much love as we could muster. We can’t take credit for how well she’s turned out, the glory for that goes to God, but we are so proud of how she has submitted her life to Jesus and His purpose for it.

She is a world changer and although I still wonder if we’ve done enough, I can release her to the next phase of her life without fear or inhibition.

I don’t normally write about family things in this way and not sure if there is much to learn from this blog, but I’m sure there are many parents this time of year who are feeling the same way.

I love Taylor Janae Gadberry and I can’t wait to watch her change her world.

Leave a Reply

