It’s a hard knock life…Be thankful

1 Thessalonians 5:8 (AMP) Thank [God] in everything [no matter what the circumstances may be, be thankful and give thanks], for this is the will of God for you [who are] in Christ Jesus [the Revealer and Mediator of that will].

Of course we shouldn’t have the attitude that his is a hard knock life, because attitude is everything, and that is what this passage of scripture is all about.  Its not a hard knock life, but as Christians we can not deny that life has some hard knocks.  Just because we know Jesus and have a relationhip with Him, does not mean we will never face adverse or difficult circumstances.  What is different, or should be different, is the attitude we have regardless of those circumstances.

When we as believers face hardship what is our response?  I think its interesting that Paul tells us to be thankful.  Have you ever tried to really be negative and thankful or grateful at the same time.  Its impossible to gripe and complain when our heart is truly thankful.  However, lets not get our theology confused here.  The bible does not say give thanks “for” everything, but “in” everything.

Many times Christians not able to explain “why” things happen, over sensationalize and spiritualize problems as if God is doing it to them to teach them a lesson.  That is not what Paul is saying, he is saying, no matter what this life throws at us, in the middle of it all, thank God.  Which is the true point of the story of Job.  No matter what, thank God.

Its that praise and worship of God that will see you through, but God is not doing bad things to you to teach you a lesson, because if we are not thankful “for” it, but “in”  it, then it can’t be God.  God compared himself to earthly fathers and showed us He is much better.  God would no more do bad things to you or I to teach us a lesson, than I would punch my daughter in the face to get her to obey.

It’s God’s will that we be thankful in the midst of negative circumstances because it lifts us and sets our faith above the problems, and on to the power of God Himself to lift us above or see us through the circumstances.  It also is a great testimoney to others of our trust in God.  So be encouraged, trust God, and be thankful, God is on your side.

what are some ways, you remain thankful?

2 thoughts on “It’s a hard knock life…Be thankful

  1. I am an atheist who most recently started to question my way of life. I struggle hard to define and understand faith, even though I want so badly to do so. I have tried to seek guidance in the many different religious scriptures from Christianity to Taoism. I am just in this constant struggle between trying to find faith which is in direct battle with my atheist beliefs. Sometimes I seek guidance and spiritual knowledge through reading others blogs. I will continue my journey to find where I belong, but I just wanted to thank you for your post.

    • Thanks for reading my blog, hope that it helps you along your journey. If you don’t mind I will pray for you.

Leave a Reply

