Something to Say about the end of a Perfect Season

Let me start by saying I’m no football commentator, however I am a fan. I love football on every level. I think the game is terrific and has many great traditions. I’m having a ball watching this year. They seem to be playing more competitively then i can remember in a while. I really loved the attempt at a perfect season by the Indianapolis colts.

How unfortunate to lose at this point, especially when it didn’t have to happen. Far be it from me to be an arm chair Coach, however i feel the move to take out the best players on the field to assure their health at this point in the season was ridiculous and incredibly near sighted.

I love the quote i have heard from so many coaches, I don’t know who originated it, but it says, “we play to win, we don’t play not to lose.” What a huge statement. Playing it safe, playing to maintain, playing not to lose, always seems to land teams in the loss column.

I realize it seems a lot of players are hurt this Season, not sure why, maybe because the guys are bigger, faster, stronger. Maybe because they seem to be more strategic, don’t know, but it is a factor. To a degree it has always been, this is football, its a tough sport. I can understand the coach wanting to make sure he has his best players on the field in the biggest games. Now, however, he has to deal with the momentum shift and moral of his teams, because of the disappointment of losing the perfect season. I’m certain he thought they would win, but is it a chance you take? Not me.

Because at this time of the year, going into the playoffs everyone is playing their best and hardest and nothing can be taken for granted. Now, there is nothing guaranteeing that if you leave manning and the others in the game they will win, but there is definitely a much better chance.

Its just unfortunate that such a great quarterback, who has a team, that I believe will go to the super-bowl, and win, will not also be able to say, “we had a perfect season.”

I want to encourage you, don’t live life not to lose, but live life to win. Live on the offensive. Not maintaining but pressing forward, going for it, taking chances, not playing it safe. Add a little faith to your life, and believe it will come out right. If it doesn’t then you don’t walk away having any “woulda, shoulda, coulda,” but you know you did everything you could, and that is almost as good a feeling as a win.

Nobody’s perfect, but a perfect season is not out of the question, and that’s what I have to say, about that.

thanks
David

One thought on “Something to Say about the end of a Perfect Season

Leave a Reply

