Something to Say About Leadership; What is Your Perspective of You?

Like I have said before the way to be an effective leader is to overcome insecurity (fear) in your life. The question is; How do you do that? I have introduced the idea that proper perspectives are key to dealing with fear. If I have the right perspective of God, and I realize he’s my father, and He’s good to me, and loves me, then what do I have to be afraid of?

However, even when people get that one right, there is yet another step to take. What is your perspective of you? So many people just don’t see themselves clearly. Janae (my wife) and I were talking about this just the other day. We are consistently evaluating one another in leadership, because we don’t want to have big blind-spots in our lives. You know what I mean, those areas of weakness everyone else sees but for some reason you can’t. We have committed we want to be aware of who we are, and how we conduct our lives.

What does having the right perspective of yourself have to do with overcoming insecurity or fear? Everything. If I see myself properly then i can be confident in who I am and not be afraid of people’s opinions. Many people are ruled by other people’s approval, its fear. Fear of rejection. Fear of not being liked. We can say all day we don’t care about that, but until we have the right perspective of ourselves we will be controlled by those kinds of feelings.

First as so many have written it’s important to know who you are. Know what your purpose/destiny is. However its my firm belief that you can’t know who you are, until you know who you are not. I realize that’s poor english, but true none the less.

How much time do we spend, or should I say waste, trying to be someone else. Trying to follow in the exact footsteps of people who have done great things. Instead of finding our own great thing. Its not the thing but the person that matters. There are lots of ways to do great things, but no one can do them all. You are created and purposed for those things, but insecurity creates competition and imitation. it’s fine to Emulate, but imitating is taking it to far. You can not be secure in who you are, if you’re trying to be someone else.

I use the example of John the Baptist. When the Pharisees came to ask him who he was, his answer was very interesting. Before he told them who he was, he said, as if to clarify, I am not the Messiah. This man knew who he was, and knew who he was not. He knew His role, and therefore wasn’t tempted to compete or feel insecure about Jesus role.

Look at who you are, and realize you’re not perfect, but you do have skills and gifts and talents, I believe God given. If we realize who we are is enough, and who God made us to be is the highest purpose for us, then we can do great things and feel completely confident, settled and secure.

I have been a Senior Pastor, I am now an associate. If feel no insecurity about that. I Know I excel in the role God created me for, and I do not fear what others think about it, or that it somehow makes me less important.

I am secure in who I am and am clear to finish my course with no regret.

Be the best you, and see yourself for who you are, a developing leader.

thanks
David

Leave a Reply

