Something to Say About Leadership…What is Insecurity?

In life we hear the word insecurity often. We use this word to describe people who lack confidence, people who wear their emotions on their sleeves, and people who are enamored with the idea of pleasing other people.

What is insecurity really? The dictionary defines it as an unsafe feeling. A state of mind characterized by self-doubt and vulnerability. So insecurity is a feeling of not being secure. It is a feeling of being a target for hurt or harm, when you get right down to it insecurity in its true meaning is just plane fear, the fear that we are not safe.

We’ve thought of insecurity as an overly emotional state, immaturity, and a lack of confidence. All these things characterize insecurity. They also Characterize fear. Insecurity simply means I’m afraid I’m going to be rejected. It means I’m afraid I’m going to fail. It means I’m afraid I’m going to hurt. It means I’m afraid to risk. It means I just don’t feel safe.

We can all see how this can sabotage a leader. This type of thinking paralyzes a leader. Keeps them from moving forward. Keeps their focus on their performance not the vision. What we need to do however is remove the mystery from the word insecurity and just call it what it is, Fear. Say it after me. “I am afraid.” We all go through this at different times. It’s what we do in those times that matters. Will we see insecurity for what it is and eliminate it, or will we see it as a small weakness and let it stay. It’s fear, and if you are a leader fear is your mortal enemy!

Fear is the enemy of the leader. That’s the way we should look at it. We need to listen and believe the bible. Romans 8:15 says, “we have not been given the spirit of bondage again to fear, but the spirit of adoption whereby we cry abba father. It says in Timothy, “God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of love, of power, and of a sound mind. So Fear does the transverse of this passage. It eliminates love, makes us feel weak, and paints us into a corner of confusion. Fear is an enemy to the leader.

We need to understand the power Insecurity and fear can have if we allow it in our lives. What does it cause? If I fear people’s opinions than I can’t lead with a clear vision, If I fear taking a risk, or failing, then I will stick with the status quo. If I fear rejection from people I will be obsessed with my performance and never feel like I’m good enough. It really is a killer of leadership. We must force it out of our lives.

I taught our staff today, on the idea that leading progress requires courage. Its possible to lead and not be moving forward, Moses did it for 40 years in the wilderness. It took courage for Joshua to get it moving forward. God told Joshua in the book of Joshua chapter one, to “be strong and of good courage and not to be afraid” four times. He was getting the point across to Joshua that it was going to take courage to lead to the fulfillment of the dream, to do the right things, to stand against fear itself, and bottom line it takes courage to lead people. It requires us to do the uncomfortable, to confront, and to influence others.

When I was starting out, I wanted everyone to like me. I thought that was leadership. It made me second-guess my communication. I wondered constantly if I was measuring up. It caused me to compete with others in my own mind, and to compare myself with others. I was afraid I would be rejected or I wouldn’t succeed. It wasn’t until I realized leadership is a “stand alone” place much of the time and It takes courage to help people. You can’t help people if you are constantly seeking their approval, because then it’s all about you and not them.

There are ways to defeat this fear. There are perspectives we must have, and perspectives we must change to defeat this enemy. It can be done.

Next blog I will talk about the first way to overcome insecurity, and how our perspectives can create either a vicious cycle of fear, or a victories cycle of confidence.

Hope this is helping you. Please comment on fears you have faced in leadership and how you have overcome them.

-David

9 thoughts on “Something to Say About Leadership…What is Insecurity?

    • Thanks Leslie, Hope it helps you, if it has I would love for you to refer others to blog, I would love to help as many people as I can as I am learning myself.

    • Stay tuned, I will definitely cover how to conquer it, at least from a biblical perspective and as much Godly wisdom as I can muster

  1. great blog.

    i think one of the fears i’ve faced in ministry is simply being a female. sounds strange, but my first job was with a bunch of strong, male leaders, and quite simply, i felt intimidated. now fast forward 14 years later, i still feel intimidated at times. my confidence has grown substantially only because I know who I am in Christ. I know Jesus doesn’t see me as inferior because I’m a girl!

    • Isn’t interesting how experience can change perspective? Thanks for the comment. You go “girl” by the way you sure didn’t act intimidated to me at the all leaders meeting…haha…you were awesome!

  2. fear of failure is generally THE main fear in leadership i have personally experienced. handle it in His name this way…
    1. Take Action. be assertive, make bold decisive actions.
    2.Persist. dont give up,the successful dont give up.
    3.Dont Take It Personally. failure is NOT a personality characteristic. failure is about behavior..outcome and results. because you made a mistake, doesn’t make you a failure.
    4. Do Things Differently.if what you are doing isn’t working,do something else. most people stop doing anything at all.
    5.Dont Be Hard On Yourself. you know what doesn’t work,don’t judge you own behavior.
    6.Learn From Your Experiences. making a mistake is a learning experience. what did you learn that will help you in the future? how can you use the experience to improve yourself or your situation?
    Ultimately… what i do for Jesus will be blessed. if i do it wrong, i will be blessed and if i do it right i will be blessed. a childrens minister from Brooklyn told me, nobody else but you is going to do it. be assertive, dont give up. Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

