Guest Blog

Travis is the Pastor of Faith Christian Outreach in Shawnee, Ok. He is a good friend, and great Pastor/Leader

Don’t Demas (dee’ mus)
July 13, 2009 · Leave a Comment

Demas was a companion and fellow-laborer of the Apostle Paul during his first imprisonment at Rome and joins Paul in sending greetings to Philemon, Apphia, and Archippus (Philemon 1:24; Col. 4:14).

Later on, Paul wrote this note to Timothy:

“Do your best to come to me quickly, for Demas, because he loved this world, has deserted me and has gone…” 2 Timothy 4:10

It appears that the love of the world mastered Demas, and he deserted the apostle.

I think of Demas a lot since I read this story. Many of the people who will read this have never heard of Demas. Why? Could it be because he forsook his calling and exchanged it for the things of this world? Demas could have been one of the greatest men of the New Testament, but all we know about him is that he served with Paul for a season, and deserted the Apostle for questionable reasons.

Sunday night I sat with a mission’s team from Church of the Harvest- http://www.Harvestokc.com. As we began to discuss the many aspects of the trip, excitement began to fill the room. Thinking of the differences we will be making in the lives of so many people is as exciting as it is humbling. I think I can speak for the whole group when I say, “We can’t -not do this. We are called to this mission work”

The only thing that could keep us from doing such a great work in this life… is life itself. We can’t let life, or the love of this present world get in the way of what God has called us to do.

Most church members will live their whole lives without ever experiencing what it is like to go on a mission trip. Why? Is it because we are too busy? Is it because we think we don’t have the money? Is it because we are in love with our world, just like Demas?

Trust me, I’ve had some thoughts: I am about to travel half way across the world to Cambodia with a team of people of whom I just met. I will leave my family for 17 days (my wife and I have never been apart for more than 7 days). I will not be at the first 10 days of my son’s football practices (I am his coach). I will not be preaching in my own pulpit for 2-3 weekends, and I will be missing my wife’s 40th birthday. I could go on, but you get the point.

Why am I doing this? Because He has called me to do this –life happens to us all but we cannot let life stop us from fulfilling our calling.

Don’t Demas.

Now Go………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Are you still sitting here?

Check out Travis’ blog….http://travishurst.wordpress.com

One thought on “Guest Blog

Leave a Reply

