Its a dark and rainy day….

I love days like this, I don’t know why but they slow me down. They cause me to think. To reflect and to meditate on things to come. I am thinking of the true possibilities of our Global Reach for Justice in Rwanda. We are leaving on June the 8th. I was meeting with the team just days ago, and we ask the question, “why do you think you are supposed to go on this trip?” There were many different answers. Some said, “I want to help the children,” while others said, “I’m not sure what I can do but I want to help change things for the people of Rwanda.” They all truly gave good answers.

I think we all should take time to ask that question about our lives in General, as to why we do what we do. Why are you involved in this or that? Where are you serving and why? It should bring perspective and clarity.

I asked myself, why are you going to Rwanda this year? My response is simple. To produce potential in people. I see this as one of the main reasons for my life. I have a vision for the potential in people and I feel my assigment in life is to help people realize that potential.

I know when we look at places like Rwanda, we see all the bad things that have happened. After having been there and built so many great relationships, especially with young Men and women who want to lead their country to health, I see a lot of promise and unending wells of potential.

My purpose in going this year, is not to just give a fish, but to teach them how to fish. I have kept relationships going through the web as much as possible, and we are planning a major connection with young leaders when we go. I believe that interaction and teaching, and relationship time is going to make a real difference in the lives of these young Rwandans, and in the life of the future of their country. We are going to help them in humanitarian ways, and in leadership.

How do you change the world, by seeing the potential of change, and producing it.

That’s why I am going to Rwanda. Why do you do what you do? Please share.

2 thoughts on “Its a dark and rainy day….

  1. Pingback: Daily News About Religion : A few links about Religion - Wednesday, 29 April 2009 09:31

  2. Hmmmm, deep thoughts. Making me think a little. This is a 2 part answer.
    1. Personal life: I guess I do what I do because I want people to feel good about themselves. I like to help the homeless or people down on their luck with food and warm clothes or blankets and even financially if I know them well. It makes me feel so good inside to help them. But I also like to find one of them and sit down beside them and just talk. About anything really. To show them that I am no different than they are. That someone does love them and is willing to spend time with them. Sometimes I have opportunity to share Christ and sometimes we just talk. I just flow with it and they thank me so much and I just tell them to thank God and that I get much more enjoyment out of it than they do.
    2. Professionally: I sell equipment to Hospitals…MRI, CT, Pet, X-ray, Cardiac Cath Labs, etc… I like to make a difference in patients lives. The company I work for truly has focus on patients and their outcomes. Yes, we focus on the bottom line as well but what drives us is the patients. Its good to work for a company who has focus on what really matters and builds products around patients.

Leave a Reply

