12 miles and counting…

Saturday morning was quite a work out…we took a step up to twelve miles, with the humidity, and the distance it was a challenge let me tell you. I have to say however I am very excited to have completed it. To be able to say I am almost half way there is a big deal, to me anyway. I am training for a marathon on November 16. So we are getting there, we are going to be ready.

I was very inspired when I went to run, because when we got there, there were a couple of guys who were taking a break, that had already run 24 miles and were running 25 more. I cant imagine what kind of condition you must be in to do that, they were training for a 100 mile run, I didn’t even know there was such a thing. WOW, 100 miles. It was truly inspiring to think that you can get your body to do that. It just takes consistant discipline and major mental drive to do it.

I have to say there were a couple of times I wanted to say I can’t finish, but my friend, kept me going, and I begin to imaging the young ladies that we are raising money for. Their little faces are forever etched in my mind, and not only them but the thousands who I haven’t seen, that we will reach in the future that are currently captive in the sex trade, one of our objectives in this run is to help fund our global reach efforts next year, which all will either directly or indirectly combat human trafficking. We want it to stop, and we are doing what we can, and this is a way to raise money. When you think about what they go through, what they contend with day in and day out, let me tell you it will keep you running.

Secondly its a goal I set that before I turn 40 I will run a marathon. I will do it. I’m believing for God to keep us healthy and strong to continue our training, and get it done so we can run and raise the money needed to do what needs to be done.

What is it that inspires you to go beyond where you think you can?

David

Leave a Reply

