Ethiopia….

I have started this blog several times and not been able to finish it.  I guess because of the images i have seen, the people in such desperate need, your mind says, this can’t be true, there was a moment that i was overwhelmed and my mind said this is too much, there is no way to fix this.  However as I watched my friend Pat and the different leaders of the medical clinic and the feeding centers and the ministry to prostitutes it caused me to realize, what I have been saying is true.  We can’t do everything, but we can do something, and what we will never do is nothing!

Engacha Ethiopia is the most inexplicable place I have ever seen.  It seems to be ripe with resources but because of a lack of education on how to use the land, and a lack of money to resource education, and medical care and day to day living, this place for many is a nightmare.

My friend Jennifer wrote a while back, after she had visited this place, that it was one of the most difficult things she had ever seen or done.  We literally have to choose the worst of the worst to help, because they are all in a bad way.  You have to turn off your mind, which says, “There is too much need, what can we do?”  It says, “I can’t take this, I will put it out of my mind.”  We don’t want to know that there are people living like this, starving, dying of malnutrition, dying of disease and sickness that would not kill them if they had proper medical care or could afford any kind of medical care.

So, I am shouting it from the housetops, don’t turn your head, don’t act as if it’s not happening, do something, pray, give, go, do something.  People like Pat and ICA need our help.

It’s the same problem that we have in getting people to decide to help fight human trafficking.  It’s not that people don’t care, it’s not that people are unwilling, I truly believe that in our pristine world we just can’t fathom that there are people who buy and sale humans for the purpose of perversion.  We want to think that people who are being prostituted are choosing that life, and that somehow gets us off the hook from helping.  When we find out that these are little girls 4, 5, 6 years old and up are being sold, or tricked, or kidnapped for the purpose of prostituting them for people who are so depraved that they would have sex with a child.

Its ugly, we don’t want to see it or know it.  There is an indictment on the church, and that is we are condemning not caring. What if a person has chosen this life?  What if they said I want to do this to make money, would we then say, you deserve what you get, or would we try to reach them with the love of Christ?  What did He do with the woman at the well, the woman caught in the act of adultery, or Mary Magdalene, he didn’t disqualify them from his love, they all made choices, but he loved them any way and helped them.  Let’s not consign people to the dark while we are holding the light, even when they are guilty by choice.  I know that I was guilty by choice, and Jesus reached me, and I know that you were guilty by choice but he reached you.

And if we are supposed to reach those who are guilty by choice, then we definitely have a responsibility to reach those who are captive to injustice.

The good thing is that someone is doing something about it.  There are great people in this world, who are giving their lives to the cause of Christ.  They are praying, giving, going, and changing things to reach those who need our help.  In Engatchah, they have put in a new clinic that is seeing lines of patients a day.  The doctor their used to live in this community he got out and the opportunity to go to university and was at the top of his class, he could have chosen a lot of posts, but instead he said I want to go back to my home and help my people.  There are people who are manning these feeding clinics, who are building orphanages who are planning to teach community farming that will help them find their own solutions and bring dignity to their world.  Pat would not want me saying this but he is a real hero, and he is doing something to change the world.

They all love him and respect him for what he has brought to this area.  He has made a way for people to have a changed life.  There is a local governmental leader whose name is Ababa, and he has done so much to help ICA because they are helping his people.  He said, “I am so happy these things are happening for my people, and I would rather die, than think that this change was not happening.”  He said he would rather die, then live and know his people were not being helped or learning to help themselves.

Oh God let us say with the passion of our hearts that we would rather die, than to live and know that nothing is being done, about starvation that nothing is being done about human trafficking, that nothing is being done about the injustice in the world.  Please, I mean this please pray for Ethiopia, pray for Engatcha and hosanna Ethiopia.  Find a way to help, there or around the world in other works that we are doing.

Find a way to help right here in our own community.  Does it really matter how people got in the situation they are in, or do we just need to do something about it.  I will not stand before God and say, I would have done something but they chose that life; imagine if Jesus had said that.  Remember our light can only shine its brightest in the darkest of places.  Remember John 3:17 For God sent not his son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through him might be saved.

This is only the beginning and I am going to put one picture on this blog that can give you a bit of an idea of what it was like, I really don’t know how to put it in words, but it should inspire us to say, right here in my own city, in my own neighborhood I will find a way to help people who need help.  Whether it is just love or acceptance they need, or whether it is money or resources they need, or just dignity or education or food, or someone to care.  Please, please get it in your heart, get it in your mind, its not enough to know God, we must make Him known.

David

3 thoughts on “Ethiopia….

  1. Thank you David. This is a moving post and I couldn’t agree with you more. God is stirring in my heart right now! I want to make Him known. Glad I found your blog today.

  2. Thanks for the comment Pete…I’m so thankful that there are people like you in the church who want to make a difference, God bless you and all you are doing.

    David

  3. Wow what a story so sad mother treaseasa saw the suffering in India and went out to help those who needed her we need to all pray for this to end and maybe God will end it .

Leave a Reply

